About Us

CAPS was formed in 2007 to help provide teachers in the Atascadero Unified School District the extra financial support needed to offer important educational resources not available due to reductions in the School District budget. We are a volunteer-run organization made up of parents, educators, retired teachers, and community members, and we operate under the nonprofit umbrella of The Atascadero Greyhound Foundation, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

CAPS traditionally holds an annual Evening for Education, featuring dinner, live and silent auctions, and casino gaming. All proceeds from the event, including sponsorships, go toward educational grants. Since its inception, CAPS has granted over $900,000 for various items, including Field Trips, Musical Instruments, Marching Band Uniforms, Photo Book Projects, Battle of the Books, iPads, Pottery Wheel, Science Equipment, and so much more.

CAPS is honored to have received the Organization of the Year award from the Atascadero Chamber of Commerce in 2012, as well as the 2012 Gold Award from the California Teacher’s Association.

CAPS Founders

Colleen McCall (pictured on right) and Jeannie Malik

***CAPS still has vacancies in key positions for our 2020 Board. If you are interested in joining our team supporting AUSD teachers and students, please contact us at info@atascaderocaps.org ***


Our 2020 Board

Chair – OPEN chair@atascaderocaps.org

Interim Chair - Hayley Mattson & Nicole Hider chair@atascaderocaps.org

Secretary – Felisha Imhoff secretary@atascaderocaps.org

Treasurer – Veronica DeCoster treasurer@atascaderocaps.org

Events – Lori Bickel events@atascaderocaps.org

Sponsorship – Tara Dolan sponsorship@atascaderocaps.org

Auction – Melanie Karp auction@atascaderocaps.org

Grants – Nicole Hider grants@atascaderocaps.org

Website – Samadhy Coots webmaster@atascaderocaps.org

Registration – OPEN tickets@atascaderocaps.org

Auction Tech - Matt Pauls

Social Media – Veronica DeCoster

Event Graphics - Tim Anderson

Outreach – Dawn Daner and Christina Havemann

Décor – Angie Erb

Volunteers – Carol Leoni

Casino – Glenda Highland and Jerry Tanimoto

Publicity – OPEN

Invitations – OPEN

Catalog – OPEN

2020 Committee Members : Barb Boud, Melanie Caspary, Val Hinrichs, Francesca LoPorto, Jeannie Malik, Susie McCormick-Lilley, Vy Pierce